

October 15, 2018

Knute Buehler Candidate for Governor P.O. Box 664 Tualatin, OR 97062

Dear Dr. Buehler,

We were dismayed to learn that in your remarks during the gubernatorial debate on 10/9, you expressed support for non-medical exemptions from required vaccines. Such a position puts the lives of Oregon's children and vulnerable adults at risk. The Oregon Academy of Family Physicians represents over 1600 physicians, residents and medical students offering primary care for adults and children in Oregon, and we reject vaccine exemptions for any non-medical reason.

We urge you to retract your statement in support of non-medical exemptions, and instead to join the consensus of your colleagues in the <u>American Medical Association</u>, the <u>American Academy of Family Physicians</u>, the <u>American College of Physicians</u>, and the <u>American Academy of Pediatrics</u> in support of their immunization policies, which oppose non-medical exemptions.

Current Oregon law fails to meet national guidelines and protect all children and people in vulnerable health. Because we allow non-medical exemptions from vaccine requirements, vaccination rates in Oregon are some of the lowest in the United States. This puts the lives of Oregonians at risk. Our members offer advice, support and information to help those who are uncertain to safely vaccinate their children and themselves, and thus protect their loved ones and the entire community.

Because of your position of public prominence, we urge you to deliver healthcare-related messaging that is evidence-based and that aligns with the medical and public health experts who develop vaccine-related recommendations and legislation.

Sincerely,

Members of the OAFP Board of Directors

Robyn Liu, MD, MPH, FAAFP, President (Portland)
Ruth Chang, MD, MPH, FAAFP, President-Elect (Portland)
David Abdun-Nur, MD, Vice President (Grants Pass)
Kristen Dillon, MD, Secretary (Hood River)
Michael Goodwin, MD, Treasurer (Tigard)
Dan Paulson, MD, Immediate Past President (Springfield)
Evan Saulino, MD, PhD, AAFP Delegate (Portland),

Glenn Rodriguez, MD, AAFP Delegate (Portland)
Liz Powers, MD, AAFP Alternate Delegate (Enterprise),
Gary Plant, MD, AAFP Alternate Delegate (Madras)
Heidi Beery, MD, OMA Trustee (Roseburg)
Nathalie Jacqmotte, MD, Speaker of the Congress (Portland)
Melissa Hemphill, MD, FAAFP, Vice Speaker of the Congress (Portland)
Stewart Decker, MD (Klamath Falls)
Katie Kolonic, DO (Milwaukie)
Eva McCarthy, DO (Burns)
Melissa Paulissen, MD (Tillamook)
Jonathan Vinson, MD (Portland)

Eric Wiser, MD (Portland)

Resident Directors: Carly Chambers, MD (Hood River); Kate Kleaveland, MD (Hood River); Dan Mosher, MD (Klamath Falls); Hylke Snieder, MD, and William Morrow, DO, (Corvallis); Michael Saladik, MD (Milwaukie); Dallas Swanson, MD (Klamath Falls); Jean Yau, MD (Portland) and Stuart Zeltzer, MD (Portland); Student Director: Emma Felzien (Portland)

CC: Oregon Pediatric Society; Oregon Medical Association; Oregon Chapter, ACP