The OAFP Foundation


Now in its 19th year, the OAFP Foundation, which is the philanthropic arm of the Academy, supports five key programs  – the Laurel G. Case Award for Rural Experiences, the Mary Gonzales Lundy Award, the Tar Wars anti-tobacco education program, the Medical Ethics Lecture Fund, and the Locum Tenens Fund. Email us to apply for scholarships.


This year’s Annual Fundraising Auction was a great success. If you’re interested in donated to these programs, you can donate online or by mail.


OAFP Foundation Board of Trustees:

Patricia Ahlen, MD

Dale Bookwalter

Paul Neumann, MD, Foundation Treasurer

Peggy O’Neill

Bill Origer, MD

Ron Stock, MD, Foundation President

Chris Traver

Lynn Estuesta, Executive Director


Laurel G. Case Award for Rural Experiences

Provides a one-time award to spend one or two weeks living and working with a rural family physician, in honor of the founding father of Oregon family medicine, Dr. Laurel G. Case. Open to OHSU students who have completed their first year of medical school and have shown an interest and understanding of family medicine.

2014 Laurel G. Case Award Winners:

Rita Aulie Justin Lee
Mary Clare Bohnett Casey Luce
Robin Brown Lisa Pearspn
Emma Cantor Sylvia Peterson-Perry
Benjamin Carpenter Jessica Petrovich
Leigh Hess  Neela Ramanujam
 Scott Hoffman  Annette Whitney



Mary Gonzales Lundy Award

In honor of Mary Gonzales Lundy upon her retirement after 21 years as executive director of the OAFP, this award provides a scholarship to a fourth year OHSU medical student who is committed to family medicine as his/her specialty of choice and who matches in a family medicine residency. Due to the quality of the nominees this year, two students were recognized for this award.

2015 Lundy Award Recipient: Joseph Volpi


Lundy award winner -- joe and mary










Medical Ethics Lectureship Fund

This fund provides for a lecturer to speak at the Annual Spring CME Weekend Conference as well as other local and regional lecture opportunities.

Tar Wars Anti-Tobacco Education Program

The OAFP Foundation sends family physicians and OHSU medical students to fourth and fifth grade classrooms throughout the state to teach them about the harmful effects of tobacco use.

The OAFP Foundation supports the program by providing the educational materials free of charge to the presenters and classrooms as well as sponsoring a yearly poster contest complete with prizes.

2014 Tar Wars Poster Contest Winners:

1st Place: Flynn Nyman, Jefferson Elementary School (Kristin Erickson, teacher), Corvallis

Presenter:  Troy Garrett, MD


Be the smartest fish in the school; don't get smoked!








Second place winner:

Moira O’Bryan, Lighthouse School (Amanda Rice, teacher), North Bend

Presenter:  Janet Patin, MD






Third place winner:

Nellie Hanson, Trost Elementary (Holly Sarich, teacher) Canby

Presenters:  Alina Satterfield and Craig Rudy (OHSU medical students)













Email us to bring Tar Wars to your school, or to help provide underwriting for this valuable program.